UEFA - Union of European Football Associ

uefa.com users' Team of 2006 revealed - Barcelona players rewarded in record poll

    Nyon (ots) - Almost four million votes were cast by a record 390,000 individual uefa.com users and the resulting dream dozen includes four players who were also in last year's team as well as five newcomers.

    UEFA Champions League winners FC Barcelona have four players - summer recruit Gianluca Zambrotta, Carles Puyol, Ronaldinho and Samuel Eto'o - in the selection as well as coach Frank Rijkaard. With almost 292,000 votes, Ronaldinho received the highest individual poll. Barça's final opponents Arsenal FC have two players in the team in teenage central midfielder Cesc Fabregas and striker Thierry Henry, back in the team for the fifth time after missing out last year.

    Three members of Italy's World-Cup winning side  - Zambrotta, Fabio Cannavaro and Gianluigi Buffon, goalkeeper for the third time in four years - have been chosen, while another World Cup star, Germany's Philipp Lahm is a newcomer at left-back. Another newcomer AC Milan star Káka takes the attacking midfield berth while Steven Gerrard, chosen in central midfield last year, is selected in the right-midfield category on this occasion.

    uefa.com Site Manager Adrian Harte said: "We are delighted with the record vote this year as we have always believed that it is important for our users, the fans, to have their voice heard as they are the ones supporting our competitions.

    "The final team is an excellent one, featuring some established stars and some talented young European players. Indeed, all but one of the players will be back in UEFA Champions League action next month, further proof that the competition showcases the best players in the world."

    The uefa.com Team of the Year results in full are available on www.uefa.com/teamoftheyear.

    uefa.com users' Team of 2006: Gianluigi Buffon (Juventus), Gianluca Zambrotta (FC Barcelona)), Fabio Cannavaro (Real Madrid CF), Carles Puyol (FC Barcelona), Philipp Lahm (FC Bayern München), Steven Gerrard (Liverpool FC), Cesc Fabregas (Arsenal FC), Káka (AC Milan), Ronaldinho (FC Barcelona), Thierry Henry (Arsenal FC), Samuel Eto'o (FC Barcelona). Coach: Frank Rijkaard (FC Barcelona).

Issued by Fast Web Media on behalf of UEFA Media Technologies

ots Originaltext: UEFA - Union of European Football Association
Internet: www.presseportal.ch

Rachel Pearse
Fast Web Media
Phone:  +44/(0)161/831'04'15
E-Mail: rachel.pearse@fastwebmedia.com

Weitere Meldungen: UEFA - Union of European Football Associ

Das könnte Sie auch interessieren: